Co-leading a Bible Study

I have to say this was an adventure.

We had no clue what we were getting into.  We prayed beforehand to have the right people join our group and left the rest to God.  This was difficult to do as I know Michael wanted to do well and I wanted our group to grow in the coming weeks. We had faith that our energy would be abundant and our hearts would be in the right place.  God provided every single time!

Matthew 19:26 (ESV)

26 But Jesus looked at them and said, “With man this is impossible, but with God all things are possible.”

The series we went through was great to start out our year.  It was called, Simplify by Bill Hybels we watched 20-minute videos and discussed what resonated with us which led to great discussions.  It was pretty amazing to meet brothers and sisters who were in our church body but had never met since we went to different services or sat in a different area in the church.  Over the course of four weeks, we got to invest in each other; they blessed us tremendously by how faithful they were in showing up and sharing what was going on in their life.

I enjoyed seeing my husband step out of his comfort zone by being authentic with our new friends.  His vulnerability allowed our group to open up and it was very encouraging.  On the last night, I felt we had new friends to walk this life with not just a face that looked familiar.  It was bittersweet seeing this four-week lesson end, but awesome to see the changes in my heart and in our marriage because of this.  It is so beautiful that getting plugged in and meeting people can make a church appear smaller than it did at the beginning.  By no means are we experts at leading a group and when I say I co-led that is what I did.  I supported my husband with set up, feedback, prayer, and ideas I thought we could implement, one was using my creative skills and background in design to make a bookmark.  This bookmark was just a simple thank you for our group members to use by sharing this new experience with us. #IloveMyChurch

xo,

G

 

Leave a Reply

