Adios, plastic! Hello, paper!

 

Our journey out of debt!

Marriage & Money = joint bank accounts & joint debt

In 2012, I was introduced to Dave Ramsey’s book, Total Money Makeover. Soon after I read this book, my church offered a Financial Peace University Course that I attended for nine weeks. During that course, I realized that I was never going to have debt and I would always live within my means, even below them.

Fast forward to 2015, meeting the man who would literally steal my heart!

Michael had made some decisions in the course of his military life until meeting me that had created financial stress in our relationship. His first Christmas present from me was given to him two months early. There was an FPU course that was starting and we made this a designated date night. I appreciated his openness in sharing his financial situation with me as I hoped we could overcome it together. In my eyes, I was investing in my future by investing in him. FPU is truly a total transformation in the mind. It is consciously saying, “NO” until you can say “YES” and telling your money where it will go. To a lot of people, this is a difficult task.

After going through this course I saw Michael beginning to change in his mindset. He was not wanting to pay anything on credit and started listening to me on what I had learned from Dave Ramsey. There was a light at the end of the tunnel. 🙂

When Michael and I went on our fifth date where he made it official with a GRAND experience on the beach after an hour of riding ATV’s for the first time for me. We talked about the kind of wedding we would like and marriage. Someone was really crushing hard for me! He said, “I want to pay for my wedding, so many people don’t have any skin in the game so it is easy to walk away.” I also agreed that I would want to pay half.

In my eyes, we had a plan for our relationship and financial future. However, Michael does not do what is practical he does what he feels fits with his heart and values. Which is why the proposal literally came as a joyful surprise. The sacrifice is what made this moment and season even more sentimental.

Michael, had just got his end of the year bonus check and what did he do with it? Pay down some debt? Pay his bills? NOPE. He put all of it towards my ring. To everyone and even myself this was a silly move. However, he was investing in me. He loved me enough to take me off the market and proudly pronounce that he chose me. It reminds me of Luke 21 As Jesus looked up, he saw the rich putting their gifts into the temple treasury. 2 He also saw a poor widow put in two very small copper coins. 3 “Truly I tell you,” he said, “this poor widow has put in more than all the others. 4 All these people gave their gifts out of their wealth, but she out of her poverty put in all she had to live on.”

My husband is a generous man. He is kind and gentle with me. During our engagement there was a lot of stress financially, however, we got through it. I wasn’t exactly jumping for joy at the thought of having debt at the age of 27, but I knew we could do it. We are a power couple, we are a team, and three months of marriage we have now paid off three credit cards. We have one credit card left, two loans, car payment, and our mortgage. I could not be happier with seeing this go bye bye. We have a game plan and we are intentional with our monthly budget meetings. Trust me it has not been completely smooth sailing, but we have been doing great together. I am the nerd and Michael is the free-spirit, these are terms that Dave Ramsey uses and yes both are needed in a relationship. So thank you Gingie! You really are my puzzle piece. Can’t wait to do our #debtScream!

xo,

g

 

2 thoughts on “Adios, plastic! Hello, paper!

Leave a Reply

