Being (-) doesn’t help!

One thing I have noticed myself doing is comparing and dwelling on the things that didn’t happen on our wedding day – one thing in particular.

One of my dreams was that Michael would cry as I walked down the aisle.  I have seen countless videos and photos of strangers and friends tear up as the bride makes her way to the groom.

In my head, if Michael cried, it was a true sign he loved me.  🙂

How silly is that?!

For those of you who were not there, our wedding was in Tehachapi and the wind was just picking up.  I had a veil that extended past my dress and there was a pillar where I would need to make a 90° turn.  My veil got caught on the pillar and my head went one way while my body kept going–you can figure out the rest.  I laughed, since that is a very “ME” thing to do.  Michael laughed as well. At the time it didn’t bother me because it was funny.

However, as time passed, I relived the moment of Michael laughing and not crying.  Culture (or the culture I mentally created) made me think that Michael did not truly love me because he did not cry.  Praying during these times and not letting the thought grow is really where the problem is solved.  God brought us together and I know Michael loves me; he chose me. 🙂

As I write this I am happy that there was laughter from my husband on our wedding day. He knows me very well and enjoys the fact that I can laugh at myself. We enjoy laughing together even if it takes me a while to appreciate it!

xo,

G

 

Leave a Reply

